Honorary Lecturer

Prof. Ernst Bauer, Arizona State University

Title: A catalysis model system: CO oxidation on hematite

Prof. Ernst Bauer is Distinguished Research Professor Emeritus at Arizona State University. He is one of the founders of surface physics and the physics of thin films. He has made fundamental contributions to the understanding of epitaxial growth and to the development of microscopy techniques. He invented Low Energy Electron Microscopy (LEEM) and extended LEEM by developing Spin-Polarized Low Energy Electron Microscopy (SPLEEM) and Spectroscopic Photo Emission and Low Energy Electron Microscopy (SPELEEM). The scientific achievements of Ernst Bauer have been multiply honored.

Distinguished Guest Lecturers

Prof. Xinhe Bao, University of Science and Technology of China

Prof. Xinhe Bao is President of University of Science and Technology of China. He is the member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the Fellow of the Royal Soceity of Chemistry, the Member of TWAS. Research activity focuses mainly on the surface chemistry and energy-related catalysis, including: Surface chemistry and model Catalysis, Catalysis of nano-confined systems, e.g. nano particles and porous materials,  Activation and conversion of methane, Selective oxidation of hydrocarbons, Conversion of coal-based syngas (CO/H2), Catalytically selective oxidation of CO, Fuel cell related catalysis.

Prof. Christopher T. Chantler, The University of Melbourne

Prof. Christopher T. Chantler is in Physis at The University of Melbourne. He is the Fellow of the Australian Institute of Physics, the Editor-in-Chief of Radiation Physics and Chemistry. He is also the member of American Chemical Society,  American Physical Society and Optical Society of American. His research interests include: Quantum Electro-dynamics, Relativistic Atomic Theory, XAFS , Measurement and Theory of the Inelastic Mean Free Path of the Electron and Plasma Physics.

Dr. Peter Fischer , Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Title: X-raying non-trivial spin textures — opportunities and challenges

Dr. Peter Fischer is Deputy Division Director and Senior Staff Scientist in Materials Sciences Division , Lawrence Berkelecy National Laboratory. He is APS Fellow and IEEE Fellow. His research interests include: magnetism on the nano- and mesoscale, matnetic x-ray microscopy and spectroscopy, (ultra-)fast spin dynamics, soft x-ray tomography of condensed matter and x-ray optics.

Prof. Jianwei Miao, The University of California, Los Angeles

Prof. Jianwei Miao is in Physics & Astronomy of the Universiy of California, Los Angeles. He is the Fellow of American Physical Society. Prof. Miao’s research interests lie in the interplay of physics, materials science, nanoscience, and biology. He has developed groundbreaking physical methods for high-resolution 3D imaging of nanoscale materials and biological specimens. He pioneered coherent diffraction imaging (CDI), a lensless imaging (or computational microscopy) technique that is under rapid development worldwide. Recently, he pioneered atomic electron tomography (AET) for 3D structure determination of crystal defects and disordered systems at the single-atom level.

Dr. Xijie Wang, SLAC National Accelerator Lab

Dr. Xijie Wang is the Principal investigator of Ultrafast Electron Diffraction & Microscopy initiative in SLAC National Accelerator Lab. He made seminal contributions to the development of free electron laser (FEL), UED and ultrafast science. His research interests lie in Ultrafast Electron Diffraction, Ultrafast science, High-brightness e- beam, Beam Instrumentation, SASE FEL, FEL amplifier, Laser accelerators and THz & Applications.

Tutorial Instructors

Prof. Qiang Fu , Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, CAS

Prof. Fu Qiang is the Group leader in Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, the Chinese Academy of Sciences. His research interests include: Surface catalysis at quantum confined catalysts, including 2D quantum well films, oxide films, and graphene; Interface catalysis at multi-component catalytic systems, e.g. bimetallic catalysts and oxide/metal catalysts; Development of new characterization methods and techniques for in-situ and dynamic studies in surface reactions.

Dr. Andreas Scholl ,  Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (Waiting Confirm)

Dr. Andreas Scholl is the senior staff scientist at Advanced Light Source in Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. He is the interim division deputy for science, beamline scientists at beamline and the experimental systems group Deputy. His research interests include: Novel x-ray techniques (Time-resolved techniques, high-resolution imaging techniques, coherence based techniques); X-ray spectromicroscopy and X-ray Photoemission Electron Microscopy (X-PEEM); Properties of magnetic materials and multiferroics (magnetic oxides, atomically engineered systems, electrical and optical control of magnetism).

Prof. Ruud Tromp , IBM T.J. Watson Research Center &  Leiden University

TitleSpectroscopy with the Low Energy Electron Microscope

Prof. Ruud Tromp is a scientist at IBM Research Division, Thomas J. Watson Research Center and a Physics Professor at Leiden University. He is the member of American Physical Society, American Vacuum Society and Materials Research Society. His studies have focused on the dynamics of surface and interface processes such as phase transitions, chemisorption and etching, epitaxial growth, and aspects of nanotechnology. Ultrahigh-vacuum transmission electron microscopy and low-energy electron microscopy allow detailed, real-time, in situ observations of such processes with high spatial resolution.

Dr. Christian Tusche , Forschungszentrum Jülich (Waiting Confirm)

Dr. Christian Tusche is the scientific staff at Peter Grünberg Institute Electronic Properties, Forschungszentrum Jülich. His research interests include: spin-textures in the presence of large spin-orbit interaction, the interplay of spin-orbit- and exchange-interaction in ferromagnets, and rapid band structure mapping by time-of-flight momentum microscopy.